The Alley Way

The Alley Way

alley way

 

How many of you have sat at the back on an arena, watching as the barrel racing horses approach the alleyway? I know, I know, it’s safe to watch from a distance. There are many types of entrances. You may witness the horse who runs backwards, the one who runs away, or the one who bows out his or her chest ready for battle.

I find it amusing how we as Christians can be related to those horses. When God is calling you, do you run backwards, run away, or are you pumped up & ready? Let’s examine the three different alley way reactions.

 

THE PATTERN

220px-Barrel_course

First off, let’s vision the barrel racing pattern as the route God is calling us. It is composed of straight paths as well as turns. There are many things that can cause us to stumble or fall. The ground conditions may be deep, muddy, hard, or just right. The straight paths are the easy or smooth times on God’s path. The muddy, deep, or hard turns are the areas on the path that cause us to work a little bit harder. One thing is certain about the pattern, it is always different. The same thing goes for each path that God paves for us, different routes for different people.

 

THE RIDER

barrel-racer-2016

Now this one may be a little difficult, but I want you to think of the rider as God. He is asking you to take on the challenge (the pattern). He knows that you are prepared for the battle that lies ahead. He knows what the ground conditions are like, he knows how many turns are up ahead. He knows that he has worked endlessly, preparing you for the task. He has conditioned you with workouts, drills, and tests. How you going to enter the arena?

 

The Horse

61e4a359553af8afac3c0285a2e61713

I want us to imagine that we are the horse. Are you going to run backwards, telling God that you are not ready to run? Are you going to run away, ignoring what you’re being called to do? Are you going to be the horse who bows his chest out and prances down the alley way?

 

-Running backwards: There are times in life when we want to “run backwards”. We are afraid of failing, losing, or trials that are up ahead. Most of the time it is because we have been hurt or have fallen in a prior experience. We can’t let the past or the fear of the future hold us back. We have to be the gritty little horse who runs even though they may feel a little pain or have fallen.

Trust in the Lord with all of your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all of your ways submit to him, and he will make your path straight.”

Proverbs 3:5-6

 

-Running away: This is usually the road in which leads to many more hardships and frustrations. Even if you are scared and are making baby steps, that is better than completely running away. The barrel racing horses who will not go in the pen receive a No Time. Don’t run away from your passion, your dreams, or goals. God has placed those feelings and emotions in your heart for a purpose. Don’t be the horse who gets a no time for a 4D time is better than no time at all.

“For the Lord did not give us a spirit of fear, but a spirit of power, love, and self-control.”

2 Timothy 1:7

 

-Prancing toward the alley: For we all fall short of the glory of God, but this is the horse that I want to be. Take a second to think about the horse who bows his/her chest out and prances toward the alley way. They are confident and ready to run their race. Although they know their job, they don’t know what the ground is like, how big the pattern is, or even what their rider is going to ask of them. Think of how they trust in their rider (God) to help them through the clover leaf. They don’t seem fearful, they appear ready! They trust that their rider will guide them safely around each turn (trial). The horse isn’t able to make a flawless pattern without their rider. Okay, I know some of you may be thinking that some horses can do it without their rider. True, but in this scenario the flawless run with no rider is when God completely takes over in your life. This is when things are happening that are totally out of your control and solely dependent on God, miracles. I want to be that horse who prances down the alley way, ready to take on the challenge. What about you?

Jesus looked at them and said, With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible”.

Matthew 19:26

ROD-NFR-DEC10_120912CS_006

Trula Churchill of Valentine, Neb. begins her ride during the Barrel Racing competition in the fourth go-round of the 2012 Wrangler National Finals Rodeo at the Thomas & Mack Center in Las Vegas on Sunday, Dec. 9, 2012. (Chase Stevens/Las Vegas Review-Journal)

 

Prayer

Dear heavenly Father, I come to you today with a grateful heart. I am thankful for the love of horses you have placed in my heart. Even more than that, I am thankful that you have placed such a beautiful animal on this earth for us to enjoy. It amazes me how we can relate barrel racing to our lives. I pray that you will mold and make me into the barrel horse who prances down the alley way, chest bowed out and ready for battle. Condition me Father to trust you in all areas of my life. I don’t want to be the horse who runs away from your path, pursuing my own selfish desires. This life is not about me, it’s about you & building your kingdom. I also don’t want to run backwards,living in the past or fearing my future. You hold my future. You’re the only one who knows what tomorrow holds. Give me peace for tomorrow and help me live in the moment. I thank you for the joys and blessings you have given me. I know I owe this life to you. Show me how or where I can honor you, bless me with the confidence to fulfill the call, and humble me so that it is always about you. I pray that I would have a strong conscious, honoring you in all of my words, my thoughts, and my actions. Use me as a light in the horse community, honoring you completely.

In Christ’s name I pray, Amen.

File_000 (3)

In the wise words of Fallon Taylor, ” The world is your alley way, so you better PRANCE!”

You can purchase the PRANCE pillow for $28.00 by following the link below:

 http://shopfallontaylor.com/the-world-is-your-alley-way-pillow/

May God bless you as you approach your next alley way!

❤ Love ❤

Katie @ the Houlihan Homestead

**COMING UP NEXT: Pork Tenderloin on the grill, and homemaking with Mary Ellen Lawrence!

One thought on “The Alley Way

Leave a Reply

